Something about Growth

Since my last post, it’s been four months. I feel rusty. I have not been reading or writing as much as I had planned to. I could blame this on motherhood- who has time to write in between sleepless nights, hosting guests and changing diapers now and then? Or I could simply admit I have become lazier. Pick one.  Now to important issues that are this post…

At the beginning of this week, one of my good friends visited and we had a long chat. He is one of the people who have helped me stay sane this year. He rightly pointed out that I looked much happier. He knew what he was talking about since he knows what I have been through. That afternoon was fruitful and I promised to post something about my experience.

If I could choose a word to describe 2012, it would be ‘intense’. This has been an intense year. Intense love, intense pain, intense learning, intense moments with God. Whoa! Now that I think about it, I heave a sigh of relief. As you could rightly guess, this means it has also been a year of GROWTH. Intense moments make you grow.

Let me tell you something about growth, it is painful. It stretches you; it takes you out of your comfort zone. It leaves you changed, probably so much that you’ll take time getting used to the new you. But also, growth is vital.

With growth, we learn the important things in life. We realize that if we could search our hearts, we would realize that God is all we need. That He is everything. Through this period the words of the psalmist in Psalm 16:2 proved true. “I said to the Lord, you are my Lord; apart from you, I have no good thing.”  I have a friend who says that Christ can never be the cherry on the cake. You can’t have everything else then add Christ on top. He needs to be your foundation because there is no good thing outside of Christ. It’s true.

When you grow, you worry less. You realize that there is little you can do to about tomorrow. You learn to live one day at a time. When God says he will take care of you, do yourself a favour, believe it. He never goes back on his word. During my dark period, I worried and cried myself to sleep because I did not have all the answers. I robbed myself of so much happiness because I felt I needed those answers before a certain time. Know what? After all that worry, I still don’t have the answers. Am I worried? No. Am I happy? Yes. Because I have learnt not to worry. God is taking care of me.

When you grow, you become more patient; with yourself, with others, with life. You realize that you’ll make mistakes, that others also make mistakes. There is no need to judge yourself or others too quickly or too harshly because at the end of the day, you’re human. Rome was not built in a day. Neither will your career or relationships.  Don’t fall  for quick fixes, they fall apart just as fast if not quicker. If you’re patient, you will learn so much more and avoid making the same mistakes later on.

When you grow you learn that keeping your mouth shut will not hurt. I have struggled with this one. I am one of those people whose mouths go on overdrive when angry. I speak my mind. Now this has some serious consequences. It is called verbal diarrhoea for a reason. It stings and stinks. You can never take back what you say. I have learnt this the hard way. Proverbs 21:23 ESV says “Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble.” Solomon was the wisest man who ever lived. Take heed. However, this is not always easy. You may want to say this prayer every time you want to give someone a piece of your (nasty) mind. Psalm 141:3 ESV “Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips!”

Finally, growth mostly happens in our toughest times. In times of lack, abandonment, rejection, sickness, despair, when nothing seems to make sense that’s when growth takes place. Because more often than not, it is in such times that we reflect on our lives, it is then that we pause and ponder what the purpose of our lives is. If you are like me, it is then that you soak yourself in God’s word and seek him with your all. So quit complaining, and find out how your experience is supposed to help you grow.

We cannot forever lie on our backs. We need to learn to crawl, to sit, to stand, to walk, to run. In this process we will scrape our knees, twist our wrists, fall, bite the dust but just like a little baby, we will clutch at the nearest object, rise and try again. That is how we are programmed. We are made to grow. We need to grow to thrive. We need to grow to be happy. We need to grow to achieve greatness.

In 2012, I have grown. Have you?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jilani
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 14:15:47

    Reblogged this on Jilani's Blog and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

    Reply

  2. Jilani
    Nov 16, 2012 @ 14:18:17

    Growth. Couldn’t have put it any better. This is truth.

    Reply

Let me know what you think...

